In the 1820s,
In the 1830s,
In the 1850s, two coaches each day linked
In the 1970s, awareness of the significance of
This information © Dr Dianne Snowden
Richmond Gaol was built in 1825 as part of Governor Arthur's system of police districts. The building was added to in the 1830s and was last used as a gaol in 1928. One of its infamous inmates was convict Ikey Solomon, said to be the model for Dicken's Fagin.
St Luke's Anglican Church (1834). The foundation stone was laid in 1834 by Governor Arthur. Designed by John Lee Archer and built by convict labour, the church was completed in 1835. James Thompson, the convict who was responsible for the original timber work inside the building, was granted his freedom as a reward for his work.
Congregational Church (1873). The first Congregational Church was built in 1844 in
Torrens Street and was demolished in 1876 after it was damaged in a storm. The church in Bridge Street was built in 1873.
Tasmania’s most important historic town, Richmond is one of the state’s most popular destinations, the perfect base for exploring ’s South East. Historic, romantic, family friendly, a hub for food and wine lovers with its fresh food and fine wines, grown in fertile soils under the world’s cleanest air. Good examples of Tasmania ’s stark convict heritage and beautiful historic buildings. The town is as elegant today as it was in the 1820’s, when it was an important military staging post and convict station linking Tasmania Hobart with . Nestled in the Port Arthur , this classified historic town is famous for its Georgian architecture. The stone buildings now house galleries, teashops, craft boutiques and museums, offering every convenience and luxury to the modern visitor. Coal River Valley
Text & Information sourced from Website: http://www.richmondvillage.com.au/